Improving the practice and performance of contemporary music

I rarely go over the same ground. I’m the brunt of a certain amount of criticism because, like Stravinsky, I suffer from being called a turncoat since I start in some direction and can’t continue in it.
Jacob Druckman (2)
Stacks Image 9059

One of the most prominent of contemporary American composers, Jacob Druckman was born in Philadelphia in 1928. After early training in violin and piano, he enrolled in the Juilliard School in 1949. In 1949 and 1950 he studied at Tanglewood; later, he continued his studies at the Ecole Normale de Musique in Paris (1954-55).

Druckman produced a substantial list of works embracing orchestral, chamber, and vocal media, and did considerable work with electronic music. In 1972, he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Windows, his first work for large orchestra. Among his other numerous grants and awards were a Fulbright Grant in 1954, a Thorne Foundation award in 1972, Guggenheim Grants in 1957 and 1968, and the Publication Award from the Society for the Publication of American Music in 1967. Organizations that commissioned his music included Radio France (Shog, 1991); the Chicago Symphony Orchestra (Brangle, 1989); the New York Philharmonic (Concerto for Viola and Orchestra, 1978; Aureole, 1979); the Philadelphia Orchestra (Counterpoise, 1994); the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra (Mirage, 1976); the Juilliard Quartet (String Quartet No. 2, 1966) and numerous others.

Mr. Druckman taught at the Juilliard School, Bard College, and Tanglewood; in addition he was director of the Electronic Music Studio and Professor of Composition at Brooklyn College. In April of 1982, he was appointed composer-in-residence with the New York Philharmonic. In the last years of his life, Mr. Druckman was Professor of Composition at the School of Music at Yale University(1).


Text written by Tom De Cock
  1. Biography from the Boosey & Hawkes website as visited on 10 December 2021
  3. photograph © Vincent P Oneppo